Review: Scott Meyer – An Unwelcome Quest

Review: Scott Meyer – An Unwelcome Quest

I finished the third part of the Magic 2.0 series. I can only wait for Scott Meyer to finish his fourth book: Fight and Flight. The first book, Off to Be the Wizard, was a great read. Spell or High Water continued where the previous ended, both in story as in style. I really liked that book as well. Now, I’ve read An Unwelcome Quest, which again joins young wizard Martin Banks on his journey.

In my review about Spell or High Water, I mentioned the predictability of the storyline. That hasn’t improved in this book. Sometimes, Scott Meyer seems to explicitly create certain parts of the story so that the outcome is predictable. I’m not gonna say that it’s a bad thing or a good thing. I didn’t think it hurt in his first or second book of the series. I was a bit disappointed by it in An Unwelcome Quest.

23249416

I guess I was mostly disappointed about the ending. Without going into details, I can say that the story was going in a good direction. I had a great laugh and really liked the plot. And after finishing it, I just feel like I miss something. Like there was a vibe in the story that got cut short somehow. I can’t explain it differently.

Conclusion

I had a great time reading this book. When comparing it to its predecessors, I could just go and give it five stars. However, I feel unsatisfied. Something is missing. Something I just can’t put my finger on. Therefore, I think a four star rating fits perfectly.

Have you read An Unwelcome Quest? What are your thoughts about it? Feel free to leave a comment!

 

Leave a Reply

