Review: Emilie J. Howard – Weaving the Web

Review: Emilie J. Howard – Weaving the Web

Sorry folks. I’m reading so much at the same time these days, I forget to finish my books. But I did finish Weaving the Web, the second Cold Hollow story.

Was it a good story? Kinda.

Was it as good as its predecessor? Not really.

Why? Let’s find out.

Brief Recap

It’s been six months since the events of Cold Hollow and Myrna Bradbury is still the mayor of the small town. In those months, not so much has happened. At the beginning of this story however, we find out that three new parolees are moving into town. The story kicks off with these three getting their first steps into freedom, and Myrna Bradbury getting knocked out and robbed for 200 dollars.

Next, an intriguing series of events unfold. One of two most annoying town inhabitants is kidnapped and tortured by an unnamed murderer. By weaving a web of silk, he makes her suffer just like a spider would. For self-satisfaction, he films his victim.

285761941

While this victim is being tortured, Myrna is being tested by the government that grants subsidies for the town project. By selling all the available houses, she hoped to keep future parolees away. But one of the current parolees is weird and she does not like him. Furthermore, he seems to have a twist of his own…

When one of the newest town inhabitants, not part of the parolee project but already a good friend of Myrna, is kidnapped as well, the town suspects the work of a serial killer. The police searches all houses, but can they find the newest victim in time?

Weird Characters

Just like its predecessor, I think Weaving the Web has flawed characters. All the people in this town are so… positive. It’s the only word I can think of that fully encapsulates what I mean. They are all helpful and show their best for each other. However, that’s not how humans are. At least in my experience. But I don’t know for parolees of course.

My Two Cents

I really, really liked Cold HollowThat story brought me back on the horror track. And then came this book. I won’t say I hated it. But it’s different.

Where Cold Hollow took you on a trip of mentally tormented people and blood spattering massacres, Weaving the Web wants you to help find a serial killer. It’s more a thriller/mystery in my opinion. This does not necessarily need to be a bad thing. However, I started this book with the idea that it would be a horror story like its predecessor. And then you might be a bit disappointed.

Conclusion

For the second book in the Cold Hollow series, this is still a decent read. However, I can’t rate it as good as its predecessor. Instead, I give it 3 stars. While I thought I was going to read another horror story, I took a turn for a “find the killer” mystery story. And I found the killer, quite fast. Come to think about it, maybe that’s what disappointed me.

Have you read Weaving the Web? Or other books from the Cold Hollow series? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comment section below!

Leave a Reply

