What I’ve Read: February 2017

What I’ve Read: February 2017

Another month has passed. For me, February 2017 was a good reading month. I’ve been able to read six books! While reading both fiction and non-fiction, I’ve been really happy with it. I finished the Ex-Heroes series. It was a great month.

Ex-Purgatory – Peter Clines

The last weeks of January and the first days of February, I’ve been fighting with a group of superheroes against all kinds of problems. The first problem they faced was an evil mastermind that turned their reality into a dream. Or was it the other way around? You can only be sure if you read Ex-Purgatory.

17612697

This was, in my opinion, the best book of the Ex-Heroes series. It has a great story and houses the awesome superheroes we’ve come to love. But there’s a sad thing about this book: where is Legion? But even without him, this story earns the 5 star rating I gave it. Really, read all about it in Ex-Purgatory. What’s your opinion?

Small Talk: How to Connect Effortlessly With Anyone – Betty Bohm

Another book I read is Small Talk, a book about social skills. I’m sorry to say it, but the book was a waste of time. I hardly learnt anything new. It’s sad, because I had some expectations. I rated it 2 stars, which might still be too much.

27603429

Cold Hollow – Emilie J. Howard

Since Small Talk wasn’t really my thing, I had some time to think about the next book I’d want to read. I chose Cold Hollow, a horror story about some people moving to a small town in the mountains. The family starts to feel a strange vibe in the town and soon discovers that it’s a government project to rehabilitate parolees. The town keeper, Nazar, is a real creep and decides the family knows too much.

25476196

The book has a great twist in the middle, and ends with a semi-happy ending. In the end, the townspeople are freed from Nazar and his evil tyranny. But the Grant family don’t live to see it.

I really enjoyed this book a lot, as it took me back to the horror genre I once loved so much. It deserves the 4 star rating I gave to the fullest. It really is a good book. You should read it if you’re a horror fan. Or if you want to know what horror stories are like. Let me know what you think of it in the comment section!

Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time – Jeff Sutherland

After I came back from that small town, I went on a business trip. I literally read this next book so that it could help me in my professional career as a software engineer. Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time is a book about software as much as it is about the FBI. Granted, both are mentioned in the book. But Sutherland wants to spread the knowledge of a framework he helped design that could help you in any situation.

19288230

When you are working with other people on a project – it doesn’t have to be a software project – you will want to communicate in a transparant way that helps everyone move forward. Because that is the most important thing, is it not? Improve your project and your team so that they can get to your goals faster and better. It is a great philosophy. Don’t you agree? Please give me your opinion in the comment section below!

Agile Retrospectives – Esther Derby & Diana Larsen

Near the end of the month, I was chosen to facilitate a retrospective at my job. So… I wanted to learn more about those. What are good retrospectives? And what is the secret in being a good facilitator? I hoped to learn it in this book. And I did.

721338

This 4 star book is a collection of retrospective activities. It’s a great reference manual for when you run out of inspiration. Also, it shows you what a facilitator should or shouldn’t do. It coaches you in doing good retrospectives that will help your team improve. Do you also have retros? What is your plan? Leave a comment so we all find out!

Ex-Isle – Peter Clines

At the end of the month I ended the Ex-Heroes series. The last book at the time of writing, Ex-Isle, focuses on two plots at the same time. While some of the heroes go out to investigate a group of survivors that were found in the ocean, the Cerberus project is moved to Eden. The heroes on the artificial island are not having a great time. And Eden can hardly be called safe.

247263351

After reading Ex-Purgatory, this book was at some points a small letdown. So I gave the book 4 stars. However, my favourite superheroes at the moment did a great job. We learnt some details about Legion too, even though he is not in this book either. Peter Clines, if you’re reading this, please finish the next book in the series soon. I can hardly wait. Can you?

What’s next? March 2017

In literary terms, February 2017 has been a great month for me. Apart from Small Talks, I enjoyed every book. The Ex-Heroes series is over for now, but the Cold Hollow series has only just started. You heard me! The horror book is part of a trilogy! Alright! Awesome!

And so that’s what I will read in March! Weaving The Web is the second book in the Cold Hollow universe. It brought me back to the horror genre, so I’m currently reading HEX. It’s about a witch that haunts a small village. It’s so awesome. I can’t wait to review it for you.

What have you read in February? Leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

