Review: Jeff Sutherland – Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time

Review: Jeff Sutherland – Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time

Every day, I work, eat and read. In between, I work as a software engineer. I’ve had the luxury to start my career working on a scrum team. I’ve been in the industry for some time now, but wanted to know more why that first team was doing so good. What is behind this process? I thought I’d read it best from mister Scrum himself.

Brief Recap

What is the scrum process? Jeff explains it step by step and shows the reasons why. How can we continuously improve our project? Instead of doing retrospectives that end up with a list of actions, take one action and do that. Show your customer that you are engaged. And communicate. Work with each other and tell your teammates when you are stuck during your daily standup.

Sutherland shows how scrum has worked for other companies. With success stories in a lot of big companies, it’s hard to ignore his process. The book starts with a story of the FBI and what information systems they used in the last decades. It is really shocking. But the FBI is just one example. Jeff shows more.

19288230

He even explains how scrum is more than a software development process. It can be a process for any industry. He explains how Dutch teachers are starting to use scrum in schools to improve the learning process. Scrum is being used to fix poverty problems in Africa. It’s really quite amazing.

My Two Cents

I already knew scrum before I read this book. As a software engineer, it’s not a surprise to run into the process at some point. I’ve been lucky enough to work in a scrum team in my very first software project. But what is the reason behind scrum? And how does it work in other examples?

Scrum is a process that helps people work together. It provides a means to improve your process constantly. How can you explain this to your customer? By being transparant and involving him in your project. Stop working on your products and start working on your projects. That’s one of the lessons I’ve learnt from this book!

Conclusion

After reading this book, I’ve become more interested in using scrum in my projects. I think this book is worth the read for anyone, not only for people from the software industry. Anyone can learn from this. It’s a process that can really improve a lot of our daily processes.

I rate this book 5 stars. Totally worth it! Have you worked in a scrum team? Or have you found a different process that works for you? Let me know in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

